Sources and confidence

Every number, with its source and its date.

Including what could not be verified, and is therefore not claimed anywhere in this brief.

A brief that cites confidently and cannot show its work is a liability. This page exists so that any figure used in the presentation can be checked, and so that the limits of the evidence are visible rather than hidden.

Verified primary or official source. Secondary press or third-party reporting, attribute rather than assert. Unverified could not be confirmed, and is therefore not used.

San Diego County scale

FigureValueSource
County TK-12 enrollment, 2025-26472,948V CDE DataQuest, CALPADS Fall 1 census
School districts42 (43 with SDCOE's Juvenile Court and Community Schools)V sdcoe.net
Charter schoolsabout 130V sdcoe.net About
Schoolsabout 780V sdcoe.net
Teachers countywideabout 26,000V sdcoe.net
SDCOE employeesmore than 1,100V sdcoe.net Work at SDCOE
Students SDCOE educates directlyabout 1,200 across 21 sitesV sdcoe.net
English learners15.8% (about 74,700). EL plus RFEP is roughly 30%V DataQuest ELAS, 2025-26
Largest student groupHispanic or Latino 49.5%; White 27.3%; Two or more 7.2%; Asian 7.1%; African American 4.1%; Filipino 3.4%V DataQuest, 2025-26
EL range across districtsNational Elementary 46.4% and San Ysidro 45.3% against San Dieguito Union High 3.3% and Coronado 3.8%V DataQuest, 2025-26
Socioeconomically disadvantaged, current yearnot stated in this briefU DataQuest student-group reports unavailable. SDCOE's own 2022-23 figure was 51%.
Students with disabilities, current yearnot stated in this briefU A 2026 press figure of "almost 20 percent" is journalism, not CDE data

Connectivity and the divide

FigureValueSource and date
Students under-connected or without home internet20% to 40% of student populations, district by districtS SANDAG Regional Digital Equity Strategy, adopted December 2021
Fixed broadband access42% unincorporated county against 97% urbanS SANDAG, 2021
Households under $50,000 with no broadband subscription23%S SANDAG, 2021
Affordable Connectivity Program endsa $30/month subsidy removed from over 100,000 low-income San Diego householdsS 2024, federal program expiry
City of San Diego households without wired broadband subscriptionabout 16%, nearly 86,000 homes; 30% among low-income householdsS City of San Diego Broadband Master Plan, 2026

An honest caveat

There is no dedicated 2025 or 2026 countywide digital divide report. The connectivity figures above are from 2021 and 2026 sources and are used as directional, not current. Any figure presented is dated out loud.

The capability gap

FindingSource
District-provided AI training rose from 23% (fall 2023) to 48% (fall 2024), but 67% in low-poverty districts against 39% in high-poverty districts. Nearly all district leaders reported the training was optional, and teachers described it as one-off rather than ongoing.V RAND Corporation, American School District Panel
60% of US teachers used AI during the 2024-25 school year. Weekly users reported saving about 5.9 hours a week, roughly six weeks a year. Only 32% used it weekly; 40% not at all.S Gallup and Walton Family Foundation, n=2,232, fielded March-April 2025, released June 2025
79% of districts report established official AI guidelines, up from 57% in 2025.S CoSN 2026 State of EdTech, 607 K-12 leaders across 44 states

California policy

International comparison

SystemClaim usedConfidence
EstoniaTiger Leap announced February 1996. AI Leap announced February 25 2025, live September 1 2025. Teacher training completed before student access. Phase 1: 20,000 students and 3,000 teachers. Deployed on ChatGPT Edu after opening negotiations with both OpenAI and Anthropic.V Estonian Ministry of Education release
SingaporeICT masterplan cycles unbroken since 1997. Student Learning Space launched to all MOE schools 2018. National Digital Literacy Programme March 2020, device per secondary student by end 2021. 100 hours of PD entitlement per teacher per year.V MOE Singapore
South KoreaRoughly $740M earmarked for teacher training 2024-26. Rollout March 2025; retreat to voluntary trial January 2025; August 4 2025 the National Assembly narrowed the legal definition of textbook, excluding AI digital textbooks. Adoption fell from about 37% to about 19%. One survey found 80.4% of teachers negative.V World Bank (funding); S Korea Herald and Rest of World (rollout and adoption)
FinlandElements of AI launched May 2018. EU enrollment reached 244,902 by April 2021, about 0.055% against a 1% target. About 40% of enrollees were women.V University of Helsinki
ChinaState Council New Generation AI Development Plan, July 2017. Beijing mandated at least 8 class hours of AI instruction per academic year from September 1 2025 across 1,400+ schools.V State Council; S CGTN (Beijing mandate)
UAEFirst Minister of State for AI appointed October 2017. K-12 AI curriculum mandatory in government schools from 2025-26, folded into an existing course with no added class hours.S Press reporting. The "first in the world" framing is attributed, not asserted.

Three precision rules observed throughout

  • South Korea's AI digital textbooks were not banned or cancelled. They lost their legal status as textbooks, which ended guaranteed funding and mandatory use. Schools may still adopt them.
  • Estonia did not deploy Claude. It opened negotiations with multiple frontier labs and deployed on ChatGPT Edu.
  • Estonia has no outcome data yet. The University of Tartu study is ongoing. It is a conditions story, not a results story.

SDCOE organizational facts

← Back to the brief